Molly’s County Fair Cake

Molly's "County Fair Cake" I know I’ve been gone a long while, and I’m making my return with this amazing cake.  We moved into our very own house two weeks ago; the boxes are all unpacked and chaos is fairly minimal now.  We don’t have a couch, though, and that is still throwing us off.  Where to sit at night?  CHAIRS?  All our chairs have un-upholstered, wooden arms, and our elbows have taken a beating on these as we try to curl up in the chairs the way we would on the couch.  I’ve taken to stretching out on the floor, which is without a rug–so as you see, some elements are still in progress.  Our couch is scheduled to arrive next week, and then proper lounging can begin.

The week before we moved I barely cooked–what was the point?  We ate so much takeout, it wasn’t fun anymore.  Since we’ve moved in, I’ve been a cooking and baking machine.  Snickerdoodles.  Pasta with fresh mozzarella.  Four loaves of bread for toast.  No-Knead bread.  Chicken with avocado.  And today, in addition to some hamburger buns made with no–knead dough, Molly’s County Fair Cake.

Molly posted about making this cake and linked to her original recipe today; I had all the ingredients, which is pretty unusual–it calls for sour cream, which I rarely have on hand but bought to make some delicious pinto bean taco filling earlier this week.  I decided to make half of her recipe and bake it in a bread pan.  She instructs the baker to sugar the pan; since the batter tasted pretty sweet (I am only mildly embarassed to admit I licked it clean), I didn’t.  My cake stuck a bit–it lost a corner on the bottom–so I had the sad fate to have to eat it.  Then I trimmed the edge of the warm, buttery, vanilla cake to be even, which I’m sure you realize was not so much for the sake of the cake’s architecture but for my taste buds.  I am was going to bring this to a cookout tomorrow, but now I’m having second thoughts–this cake, especially a bit warm from the oven, is heaven.  As you can see, I didn’t bother to even get a plate.  It is to marvelous to waste the time finding one.

Do yourself a favor and make Molly’s cake.  Here’s the halved recipe, suitable for a bread pan.
6 T butter, softened
1 c + 2 T sugar
2 eggs
1 c + 2 T flour
1/8 t baking soda (I eyeballed this, using a 1/4 teaspoon)
1/4 t salt
1/4 c + 2 T sour cream (I overflowed my quarter cup–close enough!)
1/2 t vanilla

Molly writes:
“Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each. To creamed mixture add sour cream and flour mix, alternately. Starting and ending with the flour mix. Mix until just blended after each addition. Stir in flavorings.

Pour batter into a greased and sugared (that’s the key) bundt bread pan. Bake at 325 degrees for an hour or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan onto a wire rack and continue to cool. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.”

I didn’t even get as far as the powdered sugar.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

