Roasted Veggie Salad

Roasted Veggie SaladWell, folks, in the week since I was very honest with you, I’ve lost a pound and a half.  Yay!  I have been counting calories, though, contrary to my plan–I figured at least in the early stages, counting would remind me of appropriate quantities of food I should consume in an average day.  I took the day off a bit yesterday and had dinner out–a glass of wine!  a tiny bit of cheese and port!  and a veggie wrap with 8 or so french fries!–and didn’t exercise (turns out my body was less excited than my brain to walk 3-4 miles multiple days, right out of the gate).  But today I’m going hiking and while the friend I’m hiking with says we’ll have lunch out while in the town we’re hiking (also going antiquing, evidently), I plan to be very well-behaved.

Eating well has been relatively easy this week because Mr. Pea is still away–I can make a recipe pretty precisely and then cut it in half—a serving for dinner and one for lunch the next day–and thus know exactly how much I’m eating.  When Mr. Pea is around that gets trickier–I cook more and we don’t divide our meals into four equal portions.  Mr. Pea is a foot taller than I–this only makes sense.  But I’ve done it before and can do it again.

One aspect of the meals I’ve made this week is fiber–a lot more of it than I’ve been consuming.  There’s not a lot of fiber in cookies.  Fiber keeps you full, helps your digestive tract, etc.   There is a lot of it in this salad, a modification of a recipe featured in January 2008’s Everyday Foods.  It’s super easy and you can work with what you have.  For this particular incarnation, I used:

1/2 head of cauliflower
3 carrots
(chop these.  Put them on a cookie sheet with 1.5 teaspoons of olive oil, salt, and pepper and roast for 15 minutes at 450*)

Remove from the oven and add 3/4 c chickpeas, stirring all around.  Put back in oven for 10-15 minutes.

In the meantime, boil 2/3 cup of water.  Add 1/4 c whole wheat couscous.  Stir, cover, remove from heat.  Let stand.

Mix up the dressing–the recipe called for lemon, which I forgot.  So I used what I had.  Mix 1 t olive oil with 3 t red wine vinegar, salt, and pepper.

Once your veggies have cooled a few minutes upon taking them out of the oven, assemble.  Put down some couscous.  Shove some baby spinach alongside (the recipe called for arugula, but spinach has more nutritive value, and I bought it already for another recipe.  No way I’m buying two pricey containers of fancy greens).  Top with half the roasted veg, a tablespoon of feta, and half the dressing.

This is pretty tasty and filling.  I think it would be good with other veggies, like parsnips, maybe even sweet potatoes.  The original recipe called for scallions to top–I bought them but forgot, and it was fine without.

5 responses »

  1. also try black rice. that is YUM! i eat that all the time. it really has a nice earthy taste to it. and do you like beets? i make a similar salad to what you made and use black rice, fresh cooked beets, chick peas, green peas, spinach, roasted pumpkin seeds, celery, parsley, lemon juice, and a tad evoo and s&p. its delish!

    and can i go with you today. sounds fun!

  2. Sure! Hop on the first flight up, ok? You’ll be here by noonish, if you can leave right this minute. You should seriously come up here sometime, though.

    Your salad sounds lovely, but I’m not a huge fan of beets. I suspect that’s because I have only had them in pickled form. Ick. I’ll have to put black rice on my list. I’ve been eating a lot of long grain brown mixed with wild rice–I put it in a pot with some water and chicken bullion–yum. I learned it’s extra tasty with some reconstituted mushrooms. Mmmmmmmm.

    • one of these days i will make it up there!

      fresh beets are TOTALLY different than pickled. but one at the store one day and cook it. they are tasty!

Leave a Reply

