Mmm, tofu.

Scrambled tofuOne of the oddest parts about Mr. Pea being away at grad school is figuring out what to cook.  In the summer when he was gone, I spent a lot of time outside and a lot of dinners upstairs.  This term has been off to a quieter start as many people are still wrapped up in their holiday trips and events, and since I had lunch out with a friend yesterday who was in town to see his family, I ate my leftovers from the night before for dinner, leaving me with two meals to cook today.  Trying to stay on the healthy path means that I am not just running down to Whole Foods for their yummy slices of pizza.  Looking around my own house, I had a bunch of potatoes, a third of a red bell pepper, and and a block of tofu.  I roasted the potatoes in the oven and used the rest to make scrambled tofu, which is amazingly tasty.  I might even have it for breakfast tomorrow–it’s well-suited to that.  The recipe comes from Dr. Andrew Weil, a well-known health guru.  Here’s the cut-and-pasted ingredient list, more or less, from the original site:  http://www.wchstv.com/gmarecipes/scrambledtofu.shtml.

  • 1 16-ounce block firm tofu
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced thin (11/2 tablespoons)
  • 3 tablespoons diced red bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • I began by sauteeing all the onions, peppers and garlic in the olive oil for two minutes; then add the tofu, drained and crumbled into the pan, the turmeric, salt and pepper and soy.  Stir about and after a few minutes, you’re done!

    Yum!  And nutritious.  A double-win.

    Leave a Reply

    