Pattern Drafting? Not so much.

I drafted a skirt pattern following the instructions in the book, Sew What! Skirts last week while watching, I’m embarassed to say, a rerun of the 1970s Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew show (this is what happens when you don’t have cable anymore).  I accidentally drew the curve for the waist about an inch shorter than it should have been.  1″ too short on one side=3-4″ too short altogether.  Oops.  This meant that the waist of the fabric (of course I cut the fabric that night) is waaaay too narrow, though the rest of it is fine (the curve for the hip is something, let me tell you).  How to fix?  Yesterday I began by cutting a 3″ strip of cotton and inserting it along the side.  This didn’t work terribly well, as it buckled along the curves (the strip is much lighter than the wool skirt) and made the bottom of the skirt to wide, compared to the other side.  So I worked on taking it in in sections.  This only caused the buckling problem to move around.  After consulting with my neighbor who agreed that the buckle was really there and not in my imagination (I can be an obsessive sewer and fixate on non-problems), I’m now taking out the strip, as you can see in the photo.  I think I’ll cut the front panel straight down and insert the strip there, and hope for the best.

It’s nice to learn the lesson that I need to pay more attention to what I’m doing yet again.

Leave a Reply

