Pajamas!

Hot Ladies pajamasI need to stop disappearing for weeks at a time!  I have all the usual excuses for you–I was busy–my cooking-to-not cooking night ratio went down–I didn’t have the energy–but I think the one that wins, as usual, is that I was lazy.  I didn’t make the time.  Alas.  But here I am.

Two weeks ago (sniff) I had spring break.  I love spring break.  Even though I always have a mountain of things to do, that mountain is spread out over days and the days themselves feel much less hectic.  I spent half of the first several days cleaning.  I scoured my kitchen.  Cleaned my craft closet out.  Straightened out the linen closet.  Other mornings I spent sewing–a project for a tiny guy who was born (gulp) six months ago, and some new pajama pants for me.  Then in the afternoons I’d grade exams, write an article, and put some solid dents in the mountain of work.  It was a good week.

Here are the pajama pants that I made.  Pardon my dusty mirror and my sloppily tossed-off bathrobe.  Those of you who have known me a while know that these pants are made of fabric I have had for a long, long time, back when Sweet Pea Handcrafts first began.  I sold away a lot of it when I shut the business down, but held onto a couple of yards.  Finally, I have turned them into jammies just to get it out of my stash.

Pajama pants are really very simple to make, even if you’re insanely short like me and need to crop all of your patterns to fit.  You cut two big pieces–stitch each leg up–then stitch the pieces together.  I make a jaunty little hem by ironing by eye–I don’t measure anymore.  I like to live dangerously and am lazy.  You make a casing at the top the same way.  You run some elastic through the casing and voila–pants.  These pants actually have a major error you can’t tell by looking at them, unless you’re looking closely.  I’m going to keep the secret of what the problem is to myself!

For those of you looking to try an easy pajama pattern, Simplicity makes some that are easy to read and assemble.  I have a whole stash of patterns that I picked up when on sale at Joanns, usually for a buck or two or three apiece.  They no longer make this particular pattern, but any of these Easy-to-Sew or 2-Hour patterns should be easy enough for the novice sewer to start with.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

