I’m not dead!


I am editing an article that refuses to be finished in what spare time I have. Already a smidge behind in grading. Oh well. I made mac and cheese yesterday–no photos, nothing fancy–

Take 1/2 lb elbows. Cook them. Set aside.
Make a roux of 1.5 T butter and flour. Melt butter, add flour, cook a minute or two, and add about 1.5 c of milk. Whisk, whisk until bits of flour are melded in. Let come to a simmer. Let simmer a few minutes until thickened.
Add a hunk of cheese, grated. We had about 1.5 packed cups. I also added about an ounce of chevre, because I had to use it up.

Dump elbows into a big ol’ casserole dish. Add sauce, some chopped ham (we had some from Christmas I thawed out–maybe a cup or so?), and some veggies. I added two handfuls of baby spinach before *someone* said it was becoming too healthy. Stir up. Top with breadcrumbs, maybe some extra cheese, salt and pepper. Bake in a 350* oven for 20 minutes. Darn tasty. I had more for lunch. I would have had it for dinner, too, it was that good. Instead I got a sandwich from the dining hall, as I’m at the office for all twelve of my twelve hours of work today. Usually I skip out for dinner. Not today, kiddies! Not when there’s more editing to do.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

