First snow, and winter jam

First snow!When I woke up at 7, I had two thoughts.  One thought was to stay in bed and sleep another hour as I was really tired.  The other thought stemmed from the 8-year-old part of my brain and was “Go see how much snow we got!  Go see the snow!”  So I listened to that part, rolled out of bed, put on my fleecy robe, and looked out the window.  We had a good 3.5-4 inches at 7 and no one had yet disturbed it–not my neighbors, or a bunny, or anything.  It was lovely.  I snapped a few photos to remember it by, as within a few hours, it had already begun to turn over to rain and will be an icy, wet mess before long!

On Monday night I decided to forgo getting much work done (mostly my own–all my grading, by some miracle, was completed) in order to make a batch of winter jam. It’s an apple-
Apple Cranberry Jam
cranberry jam, spiced with cinnamon, ginger, and allspice, and based on this recipe at Food in  Jars, my new favorite blog.  All I did to change it (besides halving the recipe) was to add the spices, which you can do safely with no adjustment to the acidity of the recipe.  The result was quite tasty, and I might have to make some more if I plan to give all of these jars away!

3 responses »

  1. I’m so glad to hear you liked the cranberry apple jam. And what beautiful snow! We had our first dusting down here in Philly over the weekend, and while it didn’t last long, it was so beautiful.

    • We were licking what was left out of the pot 🙂 I’ll definitely have to make more. Thanks for sharing the recipe! And I’m glad you like my snow–it’s all packed down, now, as it rains. Slush city!

  2. Pingback: Monkeying around « Sweet Pea Cooks

Leave a Reply

