Peppermint Mocha

I made my own peppermint mocha!How ready for the holidays do I look here?  Red bathrobe–red and white pjs–snowman mug–I’m ready to go!

When I was in graduate school, my friend Monica and I had a longstanding tradition of grading our final exams at Starbucks, where we’d chat and drink overpriced lattes we (or I, anyway) only bought once a season.  I get one peppermint mocha a year, and it’s reserved for taking the edge off of exam grading.  But this morning I wanted one.  I’ve got papers to grade, after all, but no desire to leave the house.

What I came up with isn’t perfect, and I’m definitely open to recipe variations.  I used my Bialetti Italian coffee maker to brew some strong coffee (about half a cup), a couple teaspoons of the hot cocoa mix from my last post, about 1/8 of a teaspoon of peppermint extract (which was a little strong at first and accidentally inhaling the steam from the cup cleaned out my sinuses).  These ingredients I added to about a half a cup of warm 1% milk.  At the end I added a couple of splashes of half and half to give the whole thing a creamier texture.  It’s not bad.  Not perfect, but not bad.  Perhaps it’s the whipped cream that’s missing.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

