Make your own hot cocoa mix!

Christmas mug!We’re expecting our first snow later today (and I have to go the grocery store first–eek), and nothing warms up a cold and wet evening like a cup of hot cocoa.  Earlier this week, down to just a couple of packets of swiss miss in the cabinet, I decided to look for a do-it-yourself recipe.  I didn’t want one with powdered milk, as I wanted to use what I had on hand rather than go shopping.  I ended up making one from Martha Stewart which was rich, easy, and delicious.  The original recipe makes a stunning 92 servings, so I scaled it back to 1/4 of the recipe.  You add two tablespoons of mix to a mug of milk (so about 8 oz) which you’ve heated up.  Stir and enjoy.

You’ll need:

.87 of a cup of sugar–I used a one-cup measure and eyeballed this
1/2 c plus 1 T baking cocoa (the powdered kind)
about a half-teaspoon of salt, rounded

Mix and store in an airtight container. I’m thinking I might mix a batch of this up to give as gifts to my cousins, along with some of this apple-cranberry jam and some beer bread dry ingredients, as they often go make beer together someplace in Massachusetts. Maybe I could swap them this for some of the pumpkin ale they recently made…

Leave a Reply

