Time for a recipe from the vintage cookbooks!

We haven’t played this game in a while! Today’s recipe comes from a library fundraiser cookbook ca. 1983. I remember 1983. I had an awesome velour skirt and shirt set I wore to the first day of kindergarten. If only I could have come home to this! (barf)

Salmon Loaf
1 15-oz can salmon, bones and skin removed
1 1/2 c bread crumbs
1 tsp salt
1 T butter or margarine
1 medium onion, diced
2 eggs
2 T vinegar or lemon juice
1 c milk, heated

Essentially, this is a mix-and -bake recipe, not unlike a meatloaf, I suppose, but it grosses me out more. Partly this is because I don’t like fish. I’m also surprised to see that canned salmon came with bones and skin. Ew! I don’t buy canned meat (tuna=fish=gross), but I’ve never heard of canned anything requiring so much effort. So there you go. That’s your fun recipe for the day.

Leave a Reply

