Spiced Pumpkin Cookies

Spiced Pumpkin CookiesHi!  How are you?  I’m full into the fall/winter swing of things here.  I think we eat some kind of squash or potato at least once a day.  That’s a habit I hope to maintain til I can’t stand it anymore and need a salad or something.  One of this week’s featured squash recipes is a hearty pumpkin spice cookie.  To those of you put off by pumpkin in everything (this is not me, I assure you–I like pumpkin.  A lot.), this cookie is a nice way of getting the nutrition of the squash without tasting it terribly much–the flavor is more akin to a gingerbread man than a pumpkin bread, but the texture is more like the bread than the cookie.  Either way, you shold make these.  They are delicious and, as cookies go, moderately healthy.  So I eat a minimum of three at a time.

This recipe comes by way of the Food Network, by way of Eating Well, and with a bunch of my modifications.

2/3 c + 2 T whole wheat flour
2/3 c all purpose flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 t baking powder
1 heaping teaspoon cinnamon
1 t ginger
1/4 t allspice
1/8 t cloves
1/4 t fresh ground nutmeg (actually, I think I might have forgotten this. That’s ok, they’re still tasty!)
3/4 c pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix. ew)
3/4 c packed brown sugar (I like dark)
2 eggs
1/4 c canola oil
1/4 c molasses

Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients together and add to the dry. Mix until everything is moistened. This is going to be more like muffin batter than cookie dough. Heat oven to 350*. Place batter by rounded tablespoons on cookie sheets and bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes. They’ll puff up and the bottoms will be brown, though you’re better off taking them out and letting them sit a minute or two before you take them off the sheets to prevent them from crumbling at all. They’re very moist, but a couple of my cookie bottoms stuck a smidge, so a cooler cookie was easier to remove. Makes about 3 dozen. I’ve been storing them on the counter in a zip bag (I brought them to school for a meeting originally and when people skipped dessert, I happily took them home), and they do stick together quite a bit. Better storage might be in a tupperware between layers of wax paper, or in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

