New Skills: Darning

Darned sockLast night I learned a new skill:  darning.  I know few people darn their socks anymore, but I have a favorite pair–green and blue striped wool–that have been worn out by many years of use and which, other than the hole in the heel, were in good shape.  I would be darned (ha) if I was going to toss them out over two little holes, so yesterday I looked up how to darn.  It’s not especially hard to do, so while watching baseball last night (sorry to see you go, Angels), I fixed up three of my holey socks.  Here’s one that’s done.

To darn, you need something hard inside the sock that you can stitch against.  You can buy what’s called a darning egg, which is a wooden or plastic egg shape on a narrow rod; being resourceful and cheap, however, I just used the backside of a remote control.  I stuck it in my sock and was good to go.  Once you have that set up, you need a long needle and some kind of stitching fiber.  I used embroidery thread, so it would match and be thick.  Then you sew a running stitch along one side of the hole; you then make stitches going in rows in the other way.  I started with a stitch up the left side, and then made my horizontal rows.  Then you begin to work in the other direction–vertically, in this case–weaving your fiber into the stitches you’ve made.   Voila–you’ve rewoven your sock, and it’s good to go.

Since I’m rather a poor explainer, here are some great tutorials:
Over at Craftzine
at WikiHow

I know some of you may giggle and tell me to just buy new socks, but why should I when a) I like these socks and b) I can fix them! Call my cheap, but at least I have warm feet, and a new skill.

Leave a Reply

