Steel Cut Oats

Steel Cut OatmealThis morning, since I had a little extra time, I made steel cut oats for breakfast.  I’ve never had them before; I usually make rolled oats but lately have seen steel cut pop up in so many places (online, magazines, etc.) that I figured it was worth a go.  Whole Foods carries them in bulk, so I could get just a little to try them, rather than getting a pricey, huge container.

Steel cut oats taste like oatmeal, but the texture is different.  They are whole groats, chopped, rather than rolled thin and flat.  They kind of pop in your mouth, which is fun.  They take a long while to cook, though I read several recipes yesterday that recommend using an overnight method or the crock pot.  The process itself is simple, only a little time-consuming.  I used a ratio of 2 cups of water and a pinch of salt to 1/2 cup of oats.  First I boiled the salted water, then added the oats, and then simmered them gently for about 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.  When they were done I ate half the batch with a sliced banana and a drizzle of maple syrup.  Yummy, filling, and warm.  You can’t beat that on a fall morning!

Leave a Reply

