Delicious Cake Brownies

Delicious Cake BrowniesI am not usually a fan of cake brownies.  They can be dry, and I opt most often for fudgey brownies, with all their gooey glory.  The only reason I made cake brownies was because I lacked the ingredients for fudgey ones–those generally require a block of unsweetened chocolate, which I rarely have on hand.  I needed a recipe that used only cocoa, and I modified one I found in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.

This recipe is very, very simple, and I made it all in one saucepan before baking.  Start by greasing and flouring a 9″ x 13″ pan and heating up your oven to 350*.

You’ll need:
3/4 c butter
1 1/4 c sugar
1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 c flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 c milk
1 c chocolate chips (it calls for nuts, by why add nuts if you have more chocolate?)

Melt butter in a medium-sized saucepan. Remove from heat and add sugar and cocoa powder. Stir until combined. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until just mixed. Add your dry ingredients, being careful to sprinkle the powders over your pan evenly in three shots (you could mix them all in a bowl first to assure no clumps of baking powder, but I hate washing dishes). Alternate each dose of dry with a dose of milk. I added half a cup of flour and the baking soda, then some milk; another 1/2 c flour and the baking powder, then some milk; then the end of the flour and some milk. Stir until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour into your pan and bake for about 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. The original recipe had a bigger, thinner pan (something like a jelly roll pan), so it had only a 15 minute bake time. I think mine took between 25 and 30 minutes, but I can’t remember now. Just keep an eye on your pan and you should be fine.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

