DIY Cheeze-Its

Cheese crackers!Now I know that there are people out there who think it is kind of silly to make your own versions of tasty things you can buy, particularly when making your own takes a lot more time and effort.  Those people will probably laugh at me for making my own crackers, and that’s ok.  For me, I like the challenge–I’d never made crackers before–and I also like knowing what I eat.  That’s what led me to make these delectable little fellas last week, in the middle of a baking binge that also included granola and pita bread.

These crackers were a snap to put together.  Everything is measured into a food processor, buzzed, and voila–cracker dough.

You’ll need:
1/4 c softened butter
1/4 t sea salt
1 cup cheddar, shredded
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1/4 t baking powder
3 T cold water

You begin by pulsing the butter and salt together in the processor until creamy. Add cheddar and pulse. Add dry ingredients and pulse. Then trickle in the water until your dough either forms a ball or looks like you could make one with your hands. The original recipe called for one tablespoon; I needed three.

Plunk your dough (now in ball form) onto a big ol’ cookie sheet and roll (as best you can!) til under 1/8″ thick. Cut into squares and bake in a 350* oven about 15 minutes, or until just lightly browned. Let cool in oven to crisp. These tasted much better and much cheesier when well cooled, by the way. Tasty, and not as mysterious as cheez-its.

The recipe is adopted from one here.

Leave a Reply

