No more dizziness. And apple muffins.

Apple MuffinsPeople, I feel like a bit of a hypocrite.  No sooner do I promise you ample posts and recipes than I fall off the blogging world.  Last week-or, I should say, the week before that–I was hit with a nasty case of vertigo.  Vertigo is this sense that you are spinning–or, everything else is spinning–or that things are slanting and you can’t keep your balance.  It began when I tried to adjust a squeaky bed leg; I turned my head, and I was dizzy.  And it kept coming back.  I went to the doctor and have been doing exercises ever since to knock my ear crystal things back into my inner ear where they are supposed to be.  While the spinny-dizzies passed quickly, I have been since left with incredibly weird eyesight.  The doc said my eyes were tracking and out of synch with my sense of balance.  It has been getting better, and I’m hoping by Friday–which will make it two weeks since this started–it will be gone  Using my computer made everything worse, so I tried to just leave it alone.  Since things are better, I’m back, though I confess I”m looking out the window while I type (one of the perks of having taken typing lessons back in junior high).

So anyway, that’s my story.  But it is falla nd the days and nights are getting cooler, so I know you, like me, are probably drawn more towards apple dishes and spices as the sun sets earlier and earlier.  These apple muffins are just the thing–quick and easy to assemble, you’ll have a yummy dessert/breakfast/whatever in half an hour.  The recipe comes from my friend Cynthia.
You’ll need:
2 c. flour
1/4 c. sugar
1/2 t. salt
4 t. baking powder
1/2 t. cinnamon
I also added a little fresh nutmeg.
Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.
1 egg beaten
1 c. milk
1/4 c. melted shortening (I used butter)
1 c. finely chopped apples sweetened w/ 1/4 c. sugar
Combine other ingredients…, add to dry ingredients, mixing only until flour is moistened.
Fill greased muffin cups 3/4 full, bake at 425 for 20-25 min.

Leave a Reply

