Spiced Pancakes

Spiced PancakesI made these pancakes last week and planned on telling you about them right away, but this semester has really started off with a bang.  I have two sections of the introductory survey to teach, as I have every semester, plus an upper-level seminar, a first-year seminar, and an independent study.  Plus service activities, my own research, blah blah blah.  So I’m a week late.  But I swear, I’m going to really try and post at least twice a week, especially now that we’re in my favorite cool-temp, pie and cookie baking, coffee and tea drinking season.  I love fall.  I love how it flips an internal switch for me so that I no longer want to grill everything, or have corn on the cob at every meal.  My meal list for this week (I just got back from the grocery store) contains mostly comfort foods.  I might make some gingersnaps later.  Joy!

Spiced pancakes fit right into my ideal fall menu.  They’re lovely, not terribly heavy, and perfect with a drizzle of maple syrup.  Or, if you’re Mr. Pea, not-maple syrup.  He insists on staying on the dark side in terms of his pancake toppings.

You’ll need:

2 c flour (I used half whole-wheat pastry flour which I got out of the bulk bin)
3 T brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp allspice
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 c milk
1 egg
2 T canola oil

I begin by beating my egg into my milk, which I measure in a big glass measuring cup. I hate dirtying extra dishes. I then beat in the oil. I add all the dry stuff to a bowl and whisk; I add the wet to the dry and stir just enough so that most everything is moistened. You don’t want to overbeat, or you’ll get tough pancakes. I heat my griddle pan over medium to medium-high heat, and pour out about 1/4 cup portions. I let them cook a few minutes per side and flip when they’re brown (this is going to vary depending on your heat and your pan). Serve with syrup, preferably one that at least pretends to be maple.

Leave a Reply

