No electricity, no bread.

Yesterday I made bread dough. I mixed it by hand, kneaded it for 15 minutes, set it to rise. Folded it. Let it rise. Formed into loaves. Let it rise. Here I made a fatal error and shoved it in the fridge about 2/3 of the way into the second rise so I could go get lunch. Took it out an hour later. Let it sit half an hour. I should have let it sit longer, but as you’ll see, it didn’t matter. Put it in the oven. Twenty minutes later, the power went out.

I have two dense bread-bricks, a product of both my desire for Mexican food (thus leaving the house) and the oven shutting off. No oven spring. I’m not even certain they’re cooked all the way through. I should find that out.

Oh well. Sometimes there’s nothing you can do! Had I let it rise longer, the bread still would have been a bust and overrisen, and ended up back in the fridge, as the power was out for 2 and a half hours.

Leave a comment