Are there just some things you should not make yourself?

I’m not talking about cars, conducting your own surgery, or anything serious, of course. But more generally–are there some things that are just better left to other people? This is a point of contention in our household. As you readers might guess, I answer “Let’s try making (whatever it is)!” and the Mr. responds, “Can’t you just buy that?” A month or two ago this was about candles. Mr. Pea’s point, and it was fair, was that I’d have to buy a bunch of ingredients and that we have limited storage. Plus I have ten other projects I’m working on. Agreeing with his point, I bought some on Etsy. But this week, the debate was about deodorant. That’s right. Deodorant.

Mr. Pea uses a Tom’s of Maine stick; I have one from Kiss My Face. I’ve stolen his and used mine and to be perfectly frank, neither is terribly effective if it’s hot and I actually move. I end up putting it on over and over and it’s kind of gross. Amy over at Angry Chicken, as part of her stick-it-to-the-man, ‘dirty hippie’ mission, swears by the one she made using cocoa butter, shea butter, and a bunch of other stuff. I’m not about to go that far–I don’t want another pile of project ingredients, after all. But doing some googling yielded a very simple option, using stuff I already had, and I figured I’d try it. The recipe for this diy deodorant was equal parts baking soda and cornstarch. That’s it. I put 1 tablespoon of each in a covered bowl, shook it up, and voila. You can put it on using a damp cloth so it sort of sticks, or do it dry, using a cotton ball or something. Mr. Pea thought I was insane, as he put it, putting bakery ingredients under my arms. But I was undeterred and we’re on day 3, with no reapplying. That said, it’s been cold and dreary here so the true test has yet to come, but so far, so good, and much cheaper than all-natural deodorants.*

*In case you’re wondering, most deodorants we use contain an aluminum-based anti-perspirant, which, besides being a chemical I don’t really need combined with a bunch of others (I never had great luck with regular commercial deodorants, either), is what makes your shirts turn yellow when you sweat. Aluminum ‘pits out’ your shirts. Now you know! Natural deodorants generally don’t come with an anti-perspirant (I can live with this), and thus don’t turn your shirts all yellow in a week or two).

2 responses »

  1. I like the Tom’s of Maine “long lasting” formula. And you just have to get used to feeling wet, the lack of the anti-perspirant. But I totally understand the need to use something.

  2. I don’t mind the dampness at all, but I do have the need to use something, especially when it’s warm. I dusted myself with a cotton ball around 10 am, and here we are 5.5 hours later, and I’m still fresh as a daisy. Evidently the cornstarch, in case you wonder, is there to help absorb dampness and to cut the baking soda, which can be a little strong and rash-inducing on some people’s skin if used alone.

Leave a Reply

