Spinach and artichoke pizza

Spinach and artichoke pizza

The past several days have been kind of busy; whatever happened to lazy summer vacations? Beats me. I made some new valances (see below–it’s the first project I’ve started and actually finished in recent memory), am planning new classes for the fall, and am teaching a summer course. And I live in the garden. The weeds grow faster than the plants, I think for spite.

At any rate, when I asked Mr. Pea last Saturday what, if anything, he’d like for meals in the coming week as I made our grocery list, he snarkily responded, “Spinach and artichoke dip.” What a kidder. Not that I couldn’t eat that as a meal, but it would be kind of wrong. Keeping it in mind, though, I dug around the old internets for something else I could do on that theme and came up with this Spinach and Artichoke Pizza, based on a Food and Wine recipe. It’s an easy pizza to make, but I don’t think I have ever made a pie with so much topping. This one pie–about 10 or 12″ across–had an entire sauteed red onion, a 10 oz box of frozen spinach, and a drained can of artichoke hearts all on its little self. Oh, and a little cheese–only a quarter cup. I wasn’t sure I would even be able to slide it off of the pizza peel and onto the stone.

It was delicious. It’s filling, and actually probably the healthiest pizza I’ve ever made. If you have a craving for spinach and artichokes, you should give it a go. Here’s the link to the recipe.

And here are my valances!
new valances

Leave a Reply

