NYT: Home Canning on the rise!

For those of you who know me or who have been following this blog a while, you know that I like to can things. I’m good at canning applesauce; jam, well, that’s a project I’ll try again this summer. For a long time information on home canning was a little scarce and a little staid, but with the rise of people really questioning what they eat, where it comes from, and how it was made, preserving your own food is becoming popular. Here’s a link to the New York Times’ article today that gets into the subject in some detail, noting that it’s part of a trend including baking your own bread. I have a loaf about to go in the oven myself, and I made some mozzarella an hour ago. Course I just ate a Hebrew National hot dog, a handful of Lays chips, and a Vlasic pickle for lunch, but I can’t change everything at once!

Maybe we’ll try pickles again this year–we made them once years ago and it was a disaster and a mess. Hmm….so long, Vlasic!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

