Oatmeal Cookies

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Cookies

The other day I made these yummy oatmeal cookies. They’re pretty much the only thing I’ve made in several days as the crunch of the semester sets in. In addition to my load of four classes (all of whom had midterms and papers due right before break), I have 3 public presentations of my own to give, so I’ve been working on those when I’m not grading or prepping; I also have other extracurricular stuff coming up, such as reading student writing portfolios, preparing to teach a first-year seminar that comes with hours of training, and moving away from this apartment to another one. All of this makes me crazy, and hurts my resolve to cook more and eat out less. This past week we ate out on Wednesday to celebrate our good fortune (we found out that we got our garden plot and a new apartment in one day!), on Friday, Mr. Pea really wanted grinders for dinner, so the sauce I’d thawed from the freezer waited until Saturday. Then last night we realized that despite Mr. Pea having gone grocery shopping and a lighthearted promise we’d made to each other to not eat out for a whole week, every dinner possibility was either frozen or needed milk, which we didn’t have, so I picked up some Chinese food. There’s a pattern here, isn’t there…. at any rate, starting today, dammit, no take out or eating out for a whole darn week. Back on the wagon. At least when we’ve eaten out three (yipes) times this past week, we’ve spent less than many people I know on one night out 🙂

You’ve probably noticed that with this drop in cooking came a corresponding drop in posting, and an utter abandonment of my photo every day project. Clearly I need to restart the ol’ engine.

Today, then, we are getting some milk, I’m making some granola, and I’ll remember to thaw out some chicken to make a tortilla casserole later on. I swear. Plus I’ll photograph at least dinner to post about and start taking photos of the day again. Promise. Once I recharge our lame camera batteries, anyway.

In the meantime, cookies! These are crunchy oatmeal cookies packed with fiber and tastiness. They taste buttery and delicious. I modified this recipe from one on recipezaar, and it makes about 24-30 cookies.

6 T butter, softened
1/2 c packed brown sugar (I use dark)
1/4 c white sugar
1/2 t baking powder
1/8 t baking soda
1/4 t cinnamon
tiny pinch ground cloves
1 egg
1/2 t vanilla
7 T wheat flour
7 T white flour
1 c rolled oats
1/2 c raisins

Begin by creaming the butter and sugars in a mixer on medium speed. Add cinnamon, cloves, baking soda and baking powder and mix well. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Make sure you scrape down the bowl to get the butter off the bottom. Beat in as much flour as you can and work the rest in, along with the oats and raisins, with a spatula or wooden spoon. Drop in rounded teaspoons on a cookie sheet at least an inch or so apart and bake 10-12 minutes at 375*.

One of the many things I’m excited about in our new apartment is an oven that hopefully keeps temperature. Ours is so erratic it’s a wonder I can bake at all. The new stove, though, is electric, which is a bummer. I’ve been spoiled by gas for 7 years now, so I’ll have to re-learn how to cook on an electric stove. But the new place also has a dishwasher, which brings me endless joy!

Leave a Reply

