White pizza with asparagus and shiitake mushrooms

White Pizza with Asparagus and Shiitake

I came up with this pizza idea when pondering what to do with half a dozen asparagus stems left in the fridge from dinner a week or two ago. I thought that shiitake mushrooms, which have a lot of texture and a sorta meaty-ish flavor would compliment them. And I am very happy to report that I was dead on in my assessment, if I do say so myself.

I began by making this crust, as I quite often do, from Everybody Likes Sandwiches, though I use 1/4 c less water than Kickpleat does. The recipe makes two; I let it rise a bit, split it in half, popped half in the freezer, and pressed the other half out on an oiled baking sheet. Someday I’ll use my pizza stone.

In a skillet, I sauteed the half-dozen asparagus spears, cut into thirds, and some sliced shiitakes–maybe 6 of them? in just a little olive oil and salt and pepper. When they were just cooked I removed them and put 3 or so tablespoons of olive oil in the pan. I warmed this very gently. When it was warm I added three crushed and roughly chopped cloves of garlic. They simmered there for a bit–five minutes, maybe, you don’t want them to brown–and I turned the heat off. This gave me a flavorful garlic oil, which, once cooled a bit, I slathered, chunks of garlic and all, all over the dough.

Then I covered the oil with a mix of mozzarella and provolone cheeses, and topped it with the veggies. I popped this into the oven–set at 425-ish, as our oven can’t seem to maintain a temperature at all lately, let alone one that resembles the temp you select–for 12 minutes until golden and delicious. Yum!

Leave a Reply

