If you have a green thumb, please share.

Sprouts!

Those of you who have been reading this blog a while might remember these. These were our precious seedlings, happy young things they were! Until they were put in the yard. We got a few zucchini blossoms and about 5 green beans, and most of our seedlings died. We put our faces to the heavens, arms outstretched, begging for an answer to why our seedlings suffered in this way. I might be just a bit dramatic, but that experience–and my cat’s idea that anything green is worth chomping on and barfing up later–is making me stunt any progress in garden planning this year.

Our fair town has community gardens, and I’m hoping to be first in line to get one when they go up for rent later this month. They’re huge–20 x 20 feet! What possibility! So much possibility I am completely overwhelmed. Should I start seeds for some things now? Even with the cat and no flourescent bulbs? Should I wait til late, or will that be too late? Should I just buy nice, hardened potted plants for transplant later? They need to be organic–where on earth will I find them? I have lots of questions and all the research I do only seems to introduce more. I feel overwhelmed. I don’t know what to do, so I’m not doing anything. I’d like to plant broccoli, green beans, a few tomato varieties, zucchini, summer squash, butternut squash, and cucumbers, and some lettuce. Plus herbs and flowers in there to attract some bugs and tell others to stay away. I live in USDA zone 6, and that’s about all I know 🙂

Help! Share your green thumb with me!

Leave a Reply

