Easy Peesy Vegetarian Chili

Easy Vegetarian Chili

The other day Mr. Pea said to me, “What will we have for lunch? We have no leftovers and no cold cuts!” You see, we are leftover people. I rarely cook for two, since we both like leftovers for lunch and are ‘meh’ on ham and cheese sandwiches. But this week–what with the chaos emanating from upstairs, the exhaustion it created, the business of the week–well, with all that, we haven’t cooked much. But one meal I’d intended to make was this chili, and I whipped it up in a half an hour. That’s right. Half-hour chili. I thought for sure it would taste undeveloped and weak, but it was actually pretty good. It’s a recipe from an old back issue of Everyday Foods.

Start by chopping:
1 small onion
3 cloves of garlic
and add them to 1T of olive oil in a dutch oven, cooking 4 or 5 minutes over medium-high heat until softened. Then add:

1 T chili powder
2 t cumin
salt and pepper
2 zucchini, cut into 1/4″ half-moons
2 carrots, cut into small dice

Mix up and cook 6-8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then add

1 10 oz box frozen corn, thawed
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed (we actually used dried–we soaked them a couple of days before and cooked them earlier in the day–I figured I’d end of freezing them, but whaddya know…)
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes (not the kind with basil in it)

Simmer away for ten minutes. Yum! We ate ours with the remains of a bag of corn chips and some grated extra-sharp cheddar.

2 responses »

  1. I made this last night for Kate and myself and it was delish. I could get used to this whole dating-a-vegetarian thing if I can continue eating like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

