Food Books I wish the Book Fairy would Bring

If only there was a book fairy, I’d ask her for a handful of lovely food-related books for me to peruse, feet up on the ottoman, glass of wine in hand. If you know of a book fairy, please let me know and I’ll give her my address. I’d be happy to praise her in future posts!
41ht9hva6il_bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_
Mark Bittman’s latest book is high on my list. Food Matters is, from what I’ve read, in the same vein as Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma. It discusses what we eat and why we eat, and the problem with the way most modern Americans get and consume their food. He emphasizes the current food chain’s impact on both the environment and the person, both points that Pollan explores. What makes this book distinct from Pollan’s is both Bittman’s writing style and his inclusion of recipes. It’s Pollan in action, without suggesting you hunt down your own mushrooms.
 
61puvschlkl_bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_
This book I’ve only heard of today. It’s a volume on gardening in tiny spots, which suits my apartment lifestyle just fine. In our old apartment we had a few inground gardens, though I grew herbs and tomatoes (poorly) in pots, and lettuce in a windowbox. This books is up my alley, since we haven’t broken ground at our new place except to dig out some dead pachysandra, and I’m not sure how long we’ll stay here (as you all know from my ranting). I might actually mosey to the bookstore for this one, unless the book fairy kindly offers it up.

That’s all for now. I hope Amazon forgives my borrowing of their cover images.  More to follow another time….

Leave a Reply

