Yum, yum, snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles are a great cookie because most of the time, one has the ingredients on hand. They are very simple to make; we had them a lot when I was little, and throughout college my mom would mail packages of them to me and my very eager friends. When I’ve made them before, they never turned out like my mom’s–often they were crunchy instead of chewy, which kind of ruined them for me. Shortly before Christmas we went to Mr. Pea’s aunt and uncle’s for pizza and It’s a Wonderful Life, and his aunt was baking these as we came in. The trick, she told me, is to underbake them a little for chewy cookies. Eureka. No more collapsed, crunchy snickerdoodles here.

This is her recipe.

1 c shortening (I use Whole Foods’ trans fat-free variety)
2 3/4c flour
1 1/2 c sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 400. Cream 1-3 in a mixer. Once well blended, add the rest. Shape into 1″ balls, and roll tops in a mixture of 2 T sugar and 1 T cinnamon. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 7-10 minutes. 7-8 minutes will yield chewier cookies, 9-10 crunchier.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Monkeying around « Sweet Pea Cooks

Leave a Reply

