Donut Muffins cure what ails you

Donut muffins

I think we all know how I am given to hyperbole every now and again, but this time I’m serious. YOU MUST MAKE THESE MUFFINS. They are heaven! Ridiculous! They’ll put your average cake donut to SHAME! And those Little Debby Donut Sticks you (I) ate as a child? PFFFFT! They cannot, by any stretch of the imagine, compare. The recipe’s not mine, but I’ll take credit if YOU make these and enjoy them. Just say “It was Jen’s idea!” I’ll be thrilled.

Anyway, a little backstory. Today I woke up tired and grumpy. For whatever reason, even though I went to bed well after twelve, my internal clock thought it’d be hilarious to wake me up at 6:43. Awesome. And then my external clock (cat) began to meow about 7 am, as he wanted his morning treats. Pest. So I woke up cranky and crabby and have spent the day fighting it off. Usually when this happens, I head to the kitchen to cook. Today was no exception. I even made us a big Sunday lunch featuring a tiny spoon roast, DIY rice-a-roni, and some tasty garlicky spinach. But I had this craving–the soul-gnawing kind–for something warm, sweet, and cakey. A little google searching for donut muffins provided me with an answer.

My version of these little scrumptious morsels is a slightly modified version of one on the hilariously named blog “Bake and Destroy.” They’re quick and easy to make and even quicker and easier to eat.

You’ll need:
1/2 c sugar
1/3 c canola oil
1 egg
1/4 t nutmeg
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1 1/2 c flour
1/2 c milk

1/2 c sugar
2 t cinnamon
2 T butter, melted

Begin by creaming oil, sugar, and egg together. Then mix dry ingredients and alternate pouring them into the whirring mixer with the milk. Grease a muffin tin (no paper cups) and fill them halfway with batter. They’ll rise a lot in the oven, so don’t worry about it. I got 10 out of my batch. I fill the other two cups with a little water. I don’t know why, but my mom told me to do it when I was a kid, so I’m just passing that along to you.

Dipping doughnut muffins

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. Take them out and carefully pop them out of the tin (I used a toothpick to loosen the edges and flip them on their sides). Mix cinnamon and sugar. Carefully dip each muffin in melted butter and roll in the sugar mix. The original recipe has you rolling the whole thing in there; I dipped tops and bottoms on a couple of them, but really, the top gives you just enough buttery sweetness without overpowering the delicate crumb of the muffin. HEAVEN. You have to eat one right away for quality control, just so you know. Then you can make a cup of coffee and have another, as you’d originally planned šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

