Holiday Menu Planning

I’m helming this year’s holiday dinner. So far it looks like there will be at least 7 if not 9 diners at our place, and I’ve started putting together a menu. Desserts are being handled by our visitors, leaving me to create some kind of tasty meal. Thus far, I’m planning:

Ham (for Easter in the past we’ve done one of the pre-sliced spiral hams requiring no work; this year I might opt for a regular ham and come up with the glaze myself)

A variation on these ridiculous potatoes, featuring bacon, cream cheese, and cheddar, per Mr. Pea’s desires

These brussels sprouts with pine nuts and currants

Some kind of sweet potato dish, preferably one that does not need baking so we can use the oven for other things

And some kind of bread or roll

Mr. Pea and I always start Christmas day with these cinnamon rolls, which I prep the day before as they rise overnight in the fridge. I’m also planning some kind of brie starter before dinner, though I’m not sure what to do for that, either. I’d be happy to hear any suggestions on that, the sweet potatoes, or the ham!

3 responses »

  1. I like to do ham in the crock pot. Here is a nice glaze:

    Ham ‘n Cola

    1/2 C brown sugar
    1 t dry mustard
    1 t prepared horseradish
    1/4 C cola-flavored soda
    3 – 4 lb precooked ham

    1. Cobine brown sugar, mustard & horseradish. Moisten with just enough cola to make a smooth paste. Reserve remaining cola.
    2. Rub entire ham with mixture. Place ham in slow cooker and add remaining cola.
    3. Cover. Cook on low 6-10 hours or high 2-3 hours.

    It’s our favorite!

Leave a Reply

