It’s Sunday, and time for pie!

Pumpkin Pie

There’s nothing like a lazy Sunday as a chance to make pie. This was indeed a lazy pie. I committed something virtually unheard of in our house–I bought the crust. I rarely do that, though this is the second time this fall, so maybe I’m turning a corner. You see, I am an insistent do-it-yourselfer, and I have a long vendetta with pie crust. Many years ago in our first apartment, I was assigned my first pie to make for Thanksgiving. I was very excited. I carefully cut shortening into flour, added a little salt, added ice water, made a ball, and put it on my floured table. Problem was, the table was covered with a sort of laminate, and regardless of how much flour I added, the crust stuck. Then there was suddenly too much flour so the crust began to dry out and crack. Things went from ugly to much uglier and ended up–I’m not kidding–with my hollering several four-letter words and throwing the dough against the wall. I’ve come a long way since then, but mostly because I’m not going to let crust get the better of me. Armed with a food processor and a granite island, things come together much more smoothly than they once did.

That said, sometimes a girl just doesn’t feel like exerting the effort. So she drives to Stop and Shop.

The custard for this pie is a pretty standard kind of recipe, one my mom made for years and which I made for years as a kid before leaving the nest.

You’ll need:
1 can pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
1 1/2 c milk
1 1/2 T melted butter
2 eggs, beaten
2 T molasses
1/2-3/4 c sugar
1 T cornstarch
1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 t ginger
1/2 t nutmeg
1/2 t salt

Preheat oven to 450. Place your crust in your pie dish and set aside. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl, and then add wet, mixing well. Pour into shell, cover edge with foil to prevent burning, and pop into oven. After 15 minutes, turn the oven down to 350. Bake for another 50 minutes, removing foil during the last 15 minutes.

Since we’re still a few weeks away from any major holiday, this means Mr. Pea and I get half a pie apiece. Sweet, but probably more than we can handle!

Leave a Reply

