Exhaustion, comfort food, and the familiar

I haven’t posted a lot of new recipes lately, and that’s because we’ve been cooking largely from a roster of things we know well. This isn’t very common for us in recent years, but the stress of moving and new things has caught up with us and when I sit down to write out shopping lists on Wednesday evenings, right before Project Runway, I tend to pull from the familiar, and from our roster of comfort foods. Mac and cheese, meatloaf, all kinds of soothing goodness. We’ve made Brussel Sprout Pasta the other night, plain-jane pepperoni pizza, Spinach and Potato Gratin last night, and a variation on Pumpkin Bread.

Do you have favorite comfort foods? Things that sooth you when you are feeling stressed out? I’d love to hear your suggestions–I think I’ve been letting stress get the better of me lately (such as waking me up at the crack of dawn and keeping me awake for hours), and I’d really enjoy hearing how other people deal with such things!

Leave a Reply

