Crafting Time

So in the few weeks that we’ve lived in our new state, before the semester begins, I’ve gotten some crafting for Christmas done. Knowing that my good pals don’t check this out at all (ahem), I figured there was no harm in showing you guys what I’ve been up to. These are Tanglewood bags, made from a pattern Alicia over at Posie Gets Cozy made. They weren’t hard, necessarily, but were really involved. First you have to cut all the little squares; sew them into patchwork; press seams; place bag pattern and cut; then cut the rest of the bag. I used, on the pink-trimmed bag, a print that’s also on the front for the lining and then just a solid dark brown for the back. The other has a bright red lining and back. They have leather loops for the buttons. If you’re an intermediate-level sewer, I highly recommend you give these a go; if not, try out some simpler stuff first before moving on!

2 responses »

  1. Those are absolutely adorable! I love ANYTHING patchwork or anything that has a quilted look! I would NEVER try anything like this, as it would probably look TOO homemade! (amateurish, for sure) I stumbled onto this site, actually looking for aprons. Good job & if you ever want to sell any of these, just contact me & quote me a price!

  2. Hey, thanks! I used to sell aprons from this site, so that’s how you were directed here. I don’t sell anything anymore. The pattern’s definitely not a beginner pattern, necessarily, unless you’ve got the patience to work on it. But the end product is definitely worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

