A little granola

Granola!

I read this recipe online someplace recently–someone said it was the best granola they’d ever had–and now I can’t remember at all where that was. This happens to me a lot. My life is mainly a series of post-it notes to not forget things. Matter of fact, I wrote this recipe down on a post-it note. Seriously. That’s just how it is.

I’m not much of a granola maker. Mr. Pea used to have it for breakfast a lot and the one time I made it, he wasn’t crazy over it, so that was that. But I thought it was high time to try again, and with that rave review from whoever it was, and the fact that I ran out of cereal the other day, now seemed good.

Now I know whoever cited this recipe led me to Orangette, who had posted it first some time ago. At any rate, this is some of the tastiest granola I’ve ever had. I had to put it in the bowl you see there because I kept eating it off the cookie sheet and at the rate I was going, there wouldn’t be much left for breakfast. This recipe seems like a good base recipe, too–something you can endlessly play with, to make different variations. The recipe I’m giving you is actually a variation on that original one. It’s also half the size, thus the weird measurements.

Turn your oven on to 300 degrees.

In a bowl, mix:
2.5 c oats
1 c nuts (I used walnuts–they were cheaper than pecans or almonds at the store. I measured a cup, then chopped them a bit)
1/4 c + 2 T sesame seeds
1/2 c sunflower seeds
1/4 c + 2 T light brown sugar
1 t cinnamon
1/2 t ground ginger
1/2 t salt

Add:
1/4 c + 2 T unsweetened applesauce (little containers are just right for this)
2.5 T maple syrup
2 T honey
1 T canola oil

Mix, mix, mix. Spread onto a baking sheet. Pop into the oven. Bake 35-40 minutes, stirring every ten or so. It’s going to come out of the oven soft, but will crisp up as it cools. Tasty.

Leave a Reply

