The Sweet Pea Bakery! I

Brownies

I have been doing a fair amount of baking in these parts lately. Part of this stems from lack of bread, and the other part stems from lack of sweets. I can only watch Mr. Pea sojourn to 7-11 so many times for Hostess cupcakes before I cave and make something. Last weekend, I made some brownies. These are pretty standard brownies from the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook. They’re not super fudgy, but not cakey, and this is fine with me. I’m not a fan of cakey brownies. I like ’em sticky.

Part of the reason why they weren’t super fudgy was because I lacked regular sugar and used some turbanido sugar instead, which, because it’s rather chunky, gave the brownies a sort of crystally texture in spots. You wouldn’t notice it unless you knew, but lesson learned.

1/2 c (one stick) butter
3 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 c sugar
2 eggs
1 t vanilla
2/3 c flour
1/4 t baking soda

Melt chocolate and butter over low heat and allow to cool.

Grease an 8×8 or 9×9 pan.

Stir sugar into chocolate mixture; add eggs and vanilla, stir stir stir. Add dry ingredients and stir until everything is just combined. Spread in pan and bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes, depending on pan size.

Leave a Reply

