Drastic Changes underway

My long silence (yet another) can be explained by an unforseen series of events. I finished grad school last summer, and so this fall went on the job market. This actually went well, and me and Mr. Pea are moving out of state in just a couple of months! Our lives are a little chaotic right now. The combination of new job + moving away means I’m closing down Sweet Pea, at least for a while though it could be a lot longer, starting June 1. Yep, that’s it for the Pea. And I’m ok with that. At first I was a little freaked, but then I remembered that all the changes coming up are what I worked really hard for, so off I go.

Now I do plan on keeping up with Sweet Pea Cooks and making it a far more functional place. Eventually, if Sweet Pea the company doesn’t come back, I’ll move it to another server, but I’m not concerned about that yet.

I’m going to post about a cake I made last weekend shortly; in the meantime, I’ll leave you with one of a series of little gems I’ll be sharing over the coming weeks. On one of our last trips home, my mother-in-law gave me a copy of her church cookbook (one of those spiral-bound dealies everyone has from school or church fundraisers), c. 1984. Some of the recipes are hilarious, and certainly date the cooks who submitted them to sometime mid-century! It amazes me how little fresh stuff, and how much canned, makes up these recipes. I grew up with (though at about 10 launched a staunch protest against) things like tuna noodle casserole, but that can’t compare to what follows. Ready?

Scalloped Tuna

1 10-oz package Cheese Nips

2 cans white tuna

2 cans mushroom soup

2-3 T milk

1/4 c chopped celery

1 1/4 c mustard

Oh my. I won’t even grace you with the instructions. What kind of recipe needs half a bottle of mustard? And a box of cheese-nips? Oh my goodness. As my husband said, what makes these kinds of recipes even greater is that if someone submitted them, they must have been proud of them, or they were a family favorite. That family must not have had much left for taste buds after all that mustard. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

