Zesty Noodley Goodness

Soba Noodles with Orange Oil

I made these noodles the other night as part of a very tasty meal including a peanut-crusted chicken (I’m serious) and steamed broccoli. Finally, it was a victory for the last issue of Cooking Light, which had been a bit of a bust all month. These noodles are delicious warm, and I think they would make a fabulous summer salad. Add some red bell pepper for color and you’re on your way.

This has a few steps, though. First, you have to make the orange oil. That’s right, orange oil.

In a little pan over medium heat, combine:
1/2 c canola oil
2 T toasted sesame oil
3/4 t orange rind (I use my handy microplane for this)
1 small clove of garlic, minced
good pinch red pepper flakes

Allow to cook for 10 minutes–mine barely simmered away–stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. We’re only going to use a little of this but it’ll keep in the fridge for a month. And trust me, once you taste it, you’re going to want to taste it again.

Ok, so in the meantime, cook up 4 ounces of soba noodles. As a side, this made four mid-size servings, but I easily could have eaten half of the dish myself. I’m hungry like that sometimes.

Chop 1/2 c of green onions/scallions and 1/4 c of cilantro. When the noodles are done, toss with 2 1/2 T of the oil, plus 1/2 T rice vinegar, 1/2 T soy sauce, and a pinch of salt. Add onions and cilantro, toss, and voila. You’ll thank me later 🙂

Leave a Reply

