Sweet Potato Pizza

Sweet Potato Pizza

This has been one of those weeks, despite that its only Wednesday, that has been an entire whirlwind. Traveling, for one thing, lots of meetings, busy at the day job, the list goes on. Last night when we got home from work around 6:45, I really wanted pizza without going around the corner for it. I made a normal one, with tomato sauce, mozzarella, and ground turkey, and then I made this. I saw the last lonely sweet potato on my counter, and thought, hmmm…..

And this was really, really good. Who knew? Mr. Pea even preferred to the turkey!

So you start with some crust. I use a wheat crust recipe that I know I’ve linked to in the past–it’s from cooks.com and requires very little rising time–but you can go and use whatever floats your boat.

Then, jab a sweet potato with a fork and pop it in the microwave for 5 minutes. Let it cool.

Once your dough is spread out on your baking sheet/pizza stone/whatever, spread it with a tablespoon or so of olive oil. Then press a giant clove of garlic, and spread it around, too.

Take your now cool potato, split it, and put chunks all over the crust. Gently squish with a fork to make “sauce”.

Top with mozzarella, salt and pepper, and some arugula. I’d add more if I made this again, which I certainly will!

Leave a Reply

