Long time away and resulting kitchen disaster

After my last post, I made some lovely superbowl treats that I even remembered to photograph. And then the winter mess arrived. We were beset by regular flu, nasty colds, and food poisoning for the next few weeks. There wasn’t much activity in our house at all, and unless popsicles count as “food” that I “cooked,” well, there just wasn’t much to report.

But we’ve been better now for the last couple of weeks, so I thought it was high time to get back on the blogging wagon. And what do I have to tell you about? A cooking catastrophe. Here it is:

Cooking Disaster

I got my latest issue of Cooking Light in last week and have since tried to make two dishes from it, both of which did not turn out so well. At least the second one was edible, if not particularly interesting. But this? I don’t know what happened here. I’m hoping you can tell me.

This is supposed to be a mac-and-cheese casserole with ham and peas. You bring some milk to a simmer, add a few seasonings, and then add some shredded low-fat cheddar and some shredded swiss. All of my cheeses, despite my efforts at whisking, turned into a glob. I tried to blend it in to no avail. What happened? I know swiss is a common fondue cheese, so it must melt and blend ok for someone; I also have used this cheddar in other m-and-cs, with no problem! The picture of the casserole looked so good, but mine, well, not so much. We popped it in the oven to see if that would help but instead ended up with warmer glob of cheese, pasta, and a bath of milk on the bottom. My husband the saint ate some of it, but I thought it was quite nasty.

So can you help a gal out? What went wrong here?

Leave a Reply

