Trying for a taste of summer

Roasted Veggies

The other day the sun came out after a wet morning and actually emitted the faintest bit of heat. It was over 40 degrees, and I was pretty excited. New England Januarys are long, cold, and then longer, so bits of spring are welcomed. I took it upon myself to walk from Harvard Square to Whole Foods, which is a good mile and a half away, especially if you take a wrong turn, as I did. Once there, I bought oodles of veggies to roast in the oven, trying to capture a bit of the deliciousness of grilling them in the summer. One eggplant, diced; one red pepper, chopped; half a red onion, in thick slices, all tossed with some red pepper flakes, two tablespoons of olive oil, and some coarse salt and pepper. into a 425 degree oven for 40 minutes, tossing occasionally. Near the end I added a drained can of chick peas to toast up a bit.

My plan was to toss the veg with a little red wine vinegar and serve with couscous. I became a chicken with the vinegar, though, not adding much out of fear of ruining my (pricey, Whole Foods, organic) veggies, and sadly, the result was more bland than a taste of summer. Sigh. Oh well. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t great. This had a lot to do with the fact that the feta in my fridge that I planned to add was past its prime and couldn’t be used. Darn.

So much for Mediterranean summer. In reheating it today, however, I added a couple pinches of curry powder. I should have done that in the first place! Warm and tasty on another 40 degree (but with howling winds and sleet) day. Followed up with some hot chocolate, I think I’m ready for a nap.

Leave a Reply

