I know what you’re thinking.

Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie

“That does not look appetizing,” I bet you’re muttering to yourself. Though that in large part has to do with my photography skills, you’re just going to have to trust me on this one. This dish–Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie–is deeeeelicious.

Someone posted it on the calorie counting site I use, and while I was a little skeptical about the flavor combination, I was duly impressed with the results. It’s initially from _Every Day with Rachael Ray_, a magazine I’ve never picked up, but I’ve tweaked it a bit to make it mine.

You’ll need:
One package lean ground turkey (recipe calls for a pound, I can’t read directions, threw in the whole 20 ounce pkg. Whoops. It was fine, anyway, just a little more turkified).
1 1/4 lb sweet potato (I had one enormous tuber)
1 T olive oil
1/2 large onion, chopped
1 carrot, grated
2 stalks of celery, chopped
1/2 t poultry seasoning (I had some ancient Bell’s seasoning I found somewhere in the pantry)
2 T butter
1 T flour
1 c chicken or turkey broth (I like the low sodium varieties, preferably Pacific)
bit of worcestershire
10 oz box frozen peas, thawed
3.5 oz reduced-fat cheddar, shredded

First chop up your sweet potato and boil in a pot of lightly salted water until soft, about 15 m. Drain, set aside, and set pan aside.

In meantime, preheat oven to 425. In a large pot or dutch oven, add oil. Add turkey, brown a minute or two, and then add veg, poultry seasoning, and salt and pepper. Cook until turkey is done and veg starting to soften, five or so minutes.

In a small pan, melt 1 T of butter and add the flour to it, whisking to cook without burning it, about a minute. We’re making a roux here. It’s a pretty traditional method of starting sauces. You make a more or less even butter-to-flour ratio, cook to get the raw flour taste out, and add liquid. In this case, add the broth and a dash or two of worcestershire. Whisk, whisk, blending the flour in. Allow to simmer until thickened, another five or so minutes. Toss into turkey mixture (now cooked) and stir. Add peas, stir. I left the heat on low to warm everything through, since my peas weren’t so much thawed as frozen.

In your sweet potato pot, now empty, add last T of butter over medium-low heat. When melted, add your potato and mash wiht a little salt and pepper. Lay this stuff over the turkey mixture (turn that burner off), top with cheese, and pop into the oven for five minutes to melt it.

Serve with a salad. I planned six reasonable size portions out of this recipe (Rachael gets two–I think that woman must feed a very hungry person if that’s her idea of a portion size!), but when all was said it done, it was more like five. I served with some salad. For 1/6 of the dish, it’s just under 300 calories, lots of protein, fiber, and vitamins. Next time I might leave off the cheese–not something I am typically prone to do, but I didn’t think it added that much to it. We shall see.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Monkeying around « Sweet Pea Cooks

Leave a Reply

