Ahoyhoy!

pumpkin bread batter

My goodness, it has been a long hiatus. A month, maybe? I’ve missed writing the blog but things have been just madness on this end.

As you might recall, when I left I was trying to get rid of the monster spam that had attacked this poor blog. It’s finally under control. As such, I can finally come back.

I was also in the first week or so of my decision to drop some weight. Since then, I’ve actually cooked a lot from Joe’s Culinary in the Desert/Country blog, and photographing and posting all of that seemed a little silly. Let’s see, we made Baked Acorn Squash stuffed with Sausage and Rice, this tomato and meatball soup, and a whole bunch of others. Yum. Anyway, in the past 7 weeks that I’ve abandoned you, I’ve been counting calories and exercising most days, and I’ve dropped some serious weight, so it all seems to be working.

In light of that, here comes the holiday season, and I decided to try and lighten up one of my favorite seasonal breads so that I can have some without blowing the whole day. My mom’s pumpkin bread is practically famous; my college friends used to gather around my door every fall when a package would come from home, knowing it probably contained some pumpkin mini muffins. My former neighbor, who has since moved back to Ireland, was so impressed that she began baking it at a local coffee shop where she worked and sold out of it on a regular basis. People love it. I grew up eating it, but it’s not exactly figure-friendly with a cup and a half of sugar and a half cup of oil in every loaf. So yesterday I experimented.

Our recipe makes two loaves, and let’s just say I’m not the best with fractions. I halved most of the ingredients, but oddly did not halve the liquids. So my little loaf took a loooong time to bake, and it’s very dense (though quite moist, as you might imagine). In place of all the oil, I added (way too much) applesauce and a little oil. In my next round, I’m just doing a straightforward applesauce-for-oil swap, and I think it’ll be fine. The recipe that I’m giving you below, however, matches yesterday’s dish. The single loaf, from which I cut 1/3 of the sugar and switched half the all-purpose white flour for wheat, clocked in, when baked, at an astonishing 2 pounds. As such, you can get 16 2-oz slices out of it, and each has just over 140 calories, 4 grams of fat, and a couple grams of fiber. The best part is that it tastes just as it always had! Hooray!

pumpkin bread
You’ll need (for one dense loaf):
3/4 c whole-wheat flour
3/4 c plus 2.5 T white flour
1 t baking soda
1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 t nutmeg
1 c sugar
3/4 t salt
half a can of pumpkin (about 3/4 c + 2 T)
2 eggs, beaten
3/4 c applesauce
1/4 c oil
1/3 c water

In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and mix until smooth. Grease and flour one loaf pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 80 minutes (check in after an hour).

Well, there you go. Hope it works for you–I’ll definitely be cutting out the oil next time to see what happens, but this surely hits the spot!

Leave a Reply

