Eat your veg!

Super Veggie

So I’ve mentioned before that healthy eating is the order of the day in our house now, per my own personal orders. I keep track of everything I eat, and am trying to limit some things (hamburgers, for example) in favor of others (fruit, let’s say). Wednesday I made a substantial veggie tomato sauce and served it with a proportionally small amount of pasta. Ordinarily, this would kill me. I love pasta. I always have. But seeing as New England was a ridiculous 94 degrees today, prohibiting my usual 3 mile walk, there were no extra calories to enjoy. And besides, one should probably have more veg than pasta, anyway. So this was made in that spirit.

You’ll need:
1/2 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 small or one medium-large zucchini, sliced into half-inch thick half-moons
about a quarter-pound crimini mushrooms, sliced
1 T olive oil
1 28 ounce can of whole tomatoes
2 T tomato paste

Start by warming your oil in a big ol’ pan over medium heat, and then add your onion. When it’s starting to become transluscent, toss in your zucchini and a little salt. Allow to cook down a bit, so they’re less firm. Toss in mushrooms and garlic, and stir around. Allow to cook a few minutes. Add some red pepper flakes for heat, if you’d like. Add can of tomatoes and bring to a steady simmer. I think I let mine cook for about a half an hour, breaking up the tomatoes with my wooden spoon. Add paste for the last twenty minutes or so, stirring to mix it in. I got three enormous veg servings out of this, and had each over about 2 ounces of ziti. You could easily feed four, and you could always add more pasta and serve six. Top with parmesan and you’re good to go!

Leave a Reply

