The time, it passes!

Autumn Brunch

Hello, fair readers! I must apologize for the lack o’ blogging in the past week; I actually had a photo ready to go for Sunday, but Mr. Pea took the camera cord away. The next time I had free time, he again had the cord, and also the camera itself. There wasn’t much a girl could do.

Things have been zany around here lately. Yours truly has decided that she has had it with herself and will be losing 25 pounds in the next several months. As such, the quantity of cheese on this site is probably going to decrease, at least a little. The things we have to do.

Anyway, here is the post I was going to write on Sunday. Last Saturday, I made a lovely autumn brunch. I cooked up some homefries (easy-peasy–nuke a big tater until it’s partly done, chop, and toss in a saute pan with butter and assorted seasonings. Leave them alone so they can brown and cook through), my own turkey breakfast sausage, and my favorite–pumpkin pancakes. I love pumpkin. I love pancakes. So there you go.

I am a big fan of breakfast sausage, but it’s so heavy and greasy that it and I aren’t always good friends. So I tried this lightened version, from RecipeZzar. I can take no credit; in fact, I overcooked mine, and when I make them again will only leave them on the giant skillet I have for ten minutes or so. I think they cooked for twenty, which, while giving them a lovely caremelized exterior, dried the devil out of them. Here’s the recipe, cut and pasted. Click here for the original .
1 lb ground turkey
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons sage
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon white pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon allspice

1. Combine all ingredients (use less pepper if you don’t want a slightly spicy taste) and blend well.
2. If time permits, refrigerate overnight to let the meat absorb the flavor of the spices.
3. Form into patties and cook as needed, freezing leftovers.
4. The smaller and thinner the patties, the shorter the cooking time.

And the pancakes. I love these pancakes. I started making them last year from a recipe on allrecipes. I like them because they contain very little added sugar or fat, and take most of their deliciousness from the spices. Again with the cutting and pasting. Original can be found here.

* 2 cups all-purpose flour
* 3 tablespoons brown sugar
* 2 teaspoons baking powder
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon ground allspice
* 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1 1/2 cups milk
* 1 cup pumpkin puree
* 1 egg
* 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
* 2 tablespoons vinegar

DIRECTIONS
1. In a separate bowl, mix together the milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vinegar. Combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, cinnamon, ginger and salt, stir into the pumpkin mixture just enough to combine.
2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

This breakfast/brunch is lovely on the cool mornings we’ve been having lately. The other day when I got up, it was only 42 outside. It’s only the beginning, so we might as well enjoy it now!

Leave a Reply

