Curried Veggies

Curried Veggies

Between the purple veggies (eggplant and pepper) I bought last weekend at the market and the enormous zucchini I got from my mom’s friend’s garden, it was time to make a super veggie dish. People always say that most Americans don’t eat enough veg, but I think I got my fair share last night. I feel as though if I ate all the recommended daily allowances of fruits, veg, grains, and meats I’d be eating all day, anyway. Tempting though it may sound, I just don’t have the time for that.

I began making this dish thinking I’d add basil and some tomato, but at the last minute veered in a different direction by adding curry powder. I like curry dishes to be pretty mild, so you could certainly add a lot more seasoning to reflect your own tastes. You can also vary the veggies to suit, as well. Oh, and in case you were wondering, a purple pepper is green on the inside and tastes a good deal like a green bell pepper. So there you go.

Cut up:
One onion
Two cloves of garlic
One enormous zucchini, or a couple of smaller ones
2 tiny baby eggplant, or a medium-sized one
One purple pepper, or some other pepper

Start by sauteeing the onion in a tablespoon or so of olive oil. Cook over med-high heat for seven or so minutes, then add garlic. As you start to smell the garlic, toss in the pepper. After three or four minutes, add zucchini. After a minute or two, add eggplant. Allow to cook, stirring occasionally, about 10-15 minutes, depending on what kind of texture you want your veggies to have. I covered mine for part of the time, too, to move things along. In the last five or so minutes, I sprinkled the veggies with, oh, about a teaspoon of curry powder–you could definitely get away with more. Stir, stir, stir, toss in a handful of frozen peas, and allow to finish cooking. I served this over couscous cooked in chicken broth with a handful of currants and a handful of pinenuts tossed in. The whole thing was quick and easy and actually had a lot more flavor than I initially expected. And when one has been on the go since 7 am and doesn’t get home until 7 pm, a quick, easy, and still healthy dinner is just what a girl needs.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

