Shrimp feast!

grilled shrimp 001

I love shrimp. It’s the only sea creature that I find edible. I’ve tried many of them, and dislike all but the briny shrimp. And since the medium shrimp were on sale this week, we had a shrimp fest! After I got through the seemingly endless process of peeling and deveining the little buggers, I tossed them in a marinade for about a half an hour. They really don’t need much more time than that, especially the smaller ones like these. My standard shrimp marinade is as follows, for about a pound of shrimp:
1/2 a lemon, juiced
3 or 4 T of olive oil
2 or 3 T white wine, if you’ve got it
minced clove of garlic
good shake of red pepper flakes
sea or kosher salt

and sometimes, slivered basil. When they’re bigger, you can skewer and grill these, about 2-3 minutes per side. When they’re smaller, though, you just end up butchering them in the process, so I used our grill guard thingy. It’s about the size of a cookie sheet, made of thin metal, and covered with holes so the heat can get through. We use it for veggies and other small things. I also marinated and grilled some chicken for our non-shrimp-lovin’ friend who came to dinner.

grilled shrimp 002

I served this with some spaghetti with a fresh tomato sauce, a few slices of prosciutto I got at Tony’s last week, and some white wine. I had good intentions about cooking some cauliflower, too, but ran out of energy. Such is life!

Oh, and in case you’re interested, Crate and Barrel is having a huge outlet sale right now. I bought a new casserole dish and various glasses to replace the ones I’ve shattered over the years! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

