So many bananas

banana bread

At this time of year it seems that nothing lasts very long if it sits on the counter. That’s how I ended up with a freezer full of bananas. I eat a banana with my cereal most days, but a week or so ago I ran out of cheerios. So the bananas sat, and despite their tropical heritage, they don’t last long in the summer’s heat and humidity. Within a few days they were getting very brown. While some folks like them that way–super ripe and very sweet–I like mine barely yellow. Into the freezer they went.

The other day it was actually cool enough–and not humid at all–to turn the oven on, so I took several bananas out of the freezer and whipped up some banana bread. This recipe is a classic. I wrote it down on a card at my mother’s, and I’m pretty sure I took it out of her orangey-red Betty Crocker cookbook. It’s not nearly as fancy as the streusel-topped recipe, but perfectly delicious all on its own.

You’ll need:
2 1/2 c flour
1 c sugar
3 1/2 t baking powder
1 t salt
3 T canola oil
3/4 c milk
1 egg
1 c mashed bananas (I use two medium-sized)

My shorthand recipe reads as follows, off my card: “9 x 5 x 3″ everything bowl med speed 1/2 minute, scraping. Bake 55-65 min 350 degrees.”

To translate. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf pan. Mix everything in a bowl on medium speed for thirty seconds. Bake in preheated oven for 55-65 minutes.

Quick, easy, and tasty, this bread also freezes well.

Leave a Reply

