Oooh, Cherry Crisp!

cherry crisp

I realized yesterday that if I was going to use the other pound of cherries in the fridge up before they went bad it was going to have to happen immediately, heat and humidity be damned! Mr. Pea and I (who will be henceforth known as Dr. Pea!) decided to make an actual meal (something we hadn’t done in several days) using the stove (and the oven! Wowza!). He made a delicious pasta salad that, had I snapped photos before we snarfed it all down, I’d show you! He took half a pound of bowties, cooked them, and after they cooled mixed them with 2 c torn spinach leaves, 2 diced plum tomatoes, a few chopped scallions and a dressing. The dressing contained (I think) 1/4 c of olive oil, a few tsp of mustard, a clove of minced garlic. It was divine.

We made corn on the cob and burgers stuffed with blue cheese. They were a little underdone but delicious.

Then we feasted on this here cherry crisp. It would have been even better with a cup or so of extra cherries, but I like my crisp-to-fruit ratio leaning towards the crisp, so I wasn’t complaining!

First, wash, stem, and pit at least a pound of cherries. Mix with a couple of T of sugar and a couple of T of flour in a baking dish (I used a 9″ glass pan).

In a bowl, mix 3/4 c flour, 1/2 c brown sugar (packed), 1/2 tsp cinnamon, a dash of salt, and cut in at least 4 T of butter. Pour on top of fruit and pop into a 375 degree oven for a half an hour. Oooh, tasty!

Leave a Reply

