Right, about that calzone…

Dim Calzone

So tomorrow is the big day when I defend my dissertation. A few edits later, I will be bidding graduate school adieu. You know, I haven’t *not* been in school since I was 4. It’s like having a looming freedom that’s just a little bit scary. Though I’ll be teaching, so it’s not like my life is changing that drastically.

Anyway, what? Oh, calzone. Right. So I made calzones the other night. Well, a few nights ago. They’re packed with spinach, ricotta, mozzerella, and parmesan. If I made them again, I’d change the mozzerella to ricotta ratio, but I was making the recipe up in my head as I went, so it wasn’t exactly perfect. When I reheated it the other day, though, it was even better. So there you go.

I made a wheat dough following Joe’s recipe on Culinary in the Desert, but instead of making four smallish calzones I made two enormous ones, about 6″ wide and 14″ long or so. We each ate half for dinner and half for lunch the next day. Here’s his recipe.

So make that, and while it rises, you make the filling.

You’ll need:
1 10-oz box frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
2-3 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
1 c ricotta cheese
1 c mozzerella (or more!)
a good few tablespoons parmesan
salt and pepper
1 egg

Combine all these things in a bowl using your hands. Hands are much more effective mixers than spoons for this job.

Oil a baking sheet and dust with cornmeal. I have an enormous one for this job.

Roll out your dough. If you make four calzones like Joe does, follow his baking procedure. If you make two like me, bake for about a half an hour at 450 degrees. I started mine at 475 a la Joe, but I realized they were going to burn before they cooked because they were so large.

Serve with some tomato sauce for dipping. Reheats quite well in your office’s trusty toaster oven.

2 responses »

  1. What did you think of the dough? We really like it and it is so easy to throw together!

    Sorry it took so long to link to you, but we finally got it done tonight!

Leave a Reply

