Ratatouille-like Vegetable Saute

Veggie Saute with Couscous

I moseyed down to my neighborhood’s branch of the Boston farmer’s market this past Saturday. My neighborhood is a small one, and there was only one veggie vendor, which was a little too bad. They did, however, have some nice-looking vegetables, so I picked some up to stash in the fridge. I also went to the local middle eastern grocer; they make their own delicious pitas, feta cheese, and olives, and sell produce at very low prices. I hadn’t been there in ages, though I used to go once a week or so. In my two stops, I got tomatoes, zucchini, summer squash, and some tiny eggplant. I decided to make a vegetable saute with them last night, and it was pretty good.

First, I chopped up about a third of an enormous vidalia onion. I added it to olive oil in a wide saucepan over medium-high heat with 2 cloves of minced garlic. I turned the heat down and let them cook 5-10 minutes. I added a little salt and pepper. In the meantime, I chopped into 3/4″ dice 1 zucchini, 1 summer squash, and 2 tiny eggplant. I added these things, with a little more salt and pepper, to the onions. I tossed them around, and let them cook for about ten minutes. I chopped up 2 1/2 tomatoes (two from the market, 1/2 that was left in the fridge), and tossed them in with a good pinch of dry oregano and a smaller pinch of basil. I popped the lid on, turned the heat down to mediumish, and let it cook a good 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally. The idea was for the veg to get very soft, but not turn to mush. I removed the lid, cooked off a little of the liquid left in the pan, and added a T or so of chopped fresh parsley. I tested for seasoning, added a little more salt, and served it with some couscous. It was quite delicious with a little parmesan cheese on top. Maybe next time I’ll take it in an entirely different route and instead of Italian spices, add some curry powder. I bet that would be good, as well.

It’s getting really, really dark here for 9:30 in the morning–it looks like about 8:30 in the evening. We’ve had a bunch of storms roll through since yesterday and it seems another one is coming. Batten down the hatches!

Leave a Reply

