Tofu Ginger Stir Fry

Stir Fry

We spent the weekend at a wedding, so cooking has been pretty unusual in these parts since some time last week. Yesterday, though, I made us a Tofu Ginger Stiry Fry. I was sorely tempted to just order take-out, but I knew that I had lots of veggies that were aging not so gracefully in the fridge, so I figured I ought to cook. I was glad I did, too, because this was a pretty tasty dish.

First, get a block of firm tofu, drain it, and put it in a plate or shallow bowl. Cover with another plate and weigh it down. This presses out any extra water in the tofu. Drain after 15 or so minutes. Chop into 1″ cubes. Set aside.

First, chop up a bunch of veggies. Whatever you have will do–I chopped up an onion, a small bunch of broccoli, a red pepper, a couple of mushrooms, and a zucchini. I put mine all in a bowl while I minced a 1″ piece of ginger and a clove of garlic. In a big ol’ saute pan or wok, add 2 T of canola oil and 2 t of sesame oil (I eyeball these things, so if you’re close, that’s fine) over med-high heat. When the oil is all glisteny, add garlic and ginger and cook for a minute. Add veggies. This part will take anywhere between 3-10 minutes, depending on the kind of veggie you have. Cook, stirring occasionally during that time until they’re crisp-tender and to your liking. When they’re done enough, push them to the sides of the pan, and put tofu in the middle to warm up. Leave them there a minute or two, and then gently toss around so the tofu is distributed.

In a small bowl, whisk together 2-3 T soy sauce, 2 t sesame oil, 1-2 T rice vinegar, and 1-2 t cornstarch. Add this mixture to your veggie mix, and toss to mix. The sauce will thicken because of the cornstarch–just give it a minute or so. If you need more sauce for your amount of stir fry, you can always adjust the quantities.

Serve with rice. I started some brown rice well before I started my veggies. You could always make more sauce, too, and add it with some noodles to the veggies, instead of rice. We also served this with gyoza, little dumplings, from Trader Joe’s.

Leave a Reply

